1 October 2013

Information Literacy and the SCONUL 7 Pillars

The SCONUL 7 Pillars model of Information Literacy gives you a framework for understanding areas of information handling that are important for academic study. The 7 Pillars model was first published in 1999, and it was revised in 2011. We will be using the revised version.

The SCONUL 7 Pillars model was developed by a group of British university librarians: SCONUL is the Society of College, National and University Libraries.

The document describing the pillars can be found here: http://www.sconul.ac.uk/sites/default/files/documents/coremodel.pdf

There is an Open Educational Resource that explains about the pillars and includes clickable diagrams of Pillars at http://repository.leedsmet.ac.uk/xerte_output/Sconul_7_Pillars/ (produced by Nick Sheppard)

Post about the 7 Pillars and your team
The purposes of this exercise are to get you familiar with the 7 Pillars, and to start thinking about your own information literacy, and also to get to know each other further as a team.
  • Think individually 1) what is your strongest pillar? 2) What is your weakest pillar? 3) Can you think of a time when you were particularly information literate?
  • As a team, share your strongest/weakest pillars.
  • Write a team blog post on your blog. Discuss what you think are the team’s strongest Pillars and why (you don't have to mention your weakest pillars!), and give at least one example of being information literate.
  • Add labels to your blog post and publish it

No comments:

Post a Comment